More Alabama Counties Get SBA Disaster Aid


By Alabama News Network
By Jamie Langley

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - The Small Business Administration has approved Walker County and the surrounding counties for disaster assistance stemming from severe storms on March 18.


Gov. Robert Bentley said the SBA disaster declaration will provide low-interest loans to help people recover and rebuild. Walker County is the primary county listed in the disaster declaration, but it also covers the neighboring counties of Blount, Cullman, Fayette, Jefferson, Marion, Tuscaloosa and Winston.


Earlier this month, the SBA issued a similar disaster declaration covering DeKalb, Etowah and surrounding counties in Alabama and Georgia based on damages from the same line of storms. In Alabama, those surrounding counties are Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Jackson, Marshall and St. Clair.


Loans are available to homeowners, renters and businesses in all the counties.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

What's Trending

What's onFull Schedule

Hot Video From AP

AP Video