As students go back to school, student drivers need to be particularly cautious when on the roads.
Teen driving safety is a growing concern in Alabama. According to reports, Alabama is currently the second worst state in the nation for teen driver fatalities.
Triple-A Alabama spokesperson Clay Ingram says it's all because of two dangerous factors.
"Number one, they are our biggest risk takers. And number two, they are the least experienced drivers. When you combine those two factors, it literally is a recipe for disaster," said Ingram.
Some parents say they don't even like the idea of their child driving so early.
"I don't think kids are ready to drive at 16. I think it's more when they get up and mature to drive. They just not ready at 16," said parent Makitha Hooks.
Another parent says he doesn't mind the age. It just depends on the teen.
"I think they are ready, as long as they take responsibility and do the proper things they need to do. Somebody needs to be in the car and with them to teach them what they need to do," said Tony Smith.
While Alabama's graduated license law helps with certain restrictions on beginner drivers, Ingram says practice is key.
"The law requires a minimum of 30 hours of supervised driving time before they get their restricted license. Triple-A recommends at least 50 hours of supervised driving time and with a portion of that at night. That's the minimum," said Ingram.
Ingram says defensive driving courses are also a good thing for your child, and parents need to be a good role model behind the wheel for their child as well.
If you would like more information and resources on teen driving safety, click here.