Senate committees approves 2 new Auburn trustees


MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) — Two new trustees for Auburn University are halfway through the legislative approval process.

The Senate Confirmations Committee voted 9-0 Wednesday to approve Wayne Smith and Michael DeMaioribus. The two were recommended recently by the Auburn trustee selection committee headed by the governor. Their appointments now go to the Senate for a final vote.

Smith is chairman, president and CEO of Community Health Systems in Franklin, Tenn., which operates 135 hospitals. DeMaioribus is senior vice president of the space and aviation contractor Dynetics in Huntsville.

The Confirmations Committee also voted Wednesday to approve the governor's reappointment of Alabama lead singer Randy Owen to the Jacksonville State University board of trustees.

What's onFull Schedule

Hot Video From AP

AP Video