State Trying to Help Disconnected Students in Butler, Perry Counties


By Alabama News Network

The state Department of Education is working with 10 pilot school systems, including those in Butler and Perry counties, to address barriers to learning and teaching and to re-engage disconnected students.

Department officials joined city and county superintendents Friday to present the Comprehensive System of Learning Supports design documents.

The director of the department's Office of Learning Support, Linda Felton-Smith, says the support system was designed by Alabamians. She said it moves student supports away from reacting to problems and moves them toward a system emphasizing prevention and early intervention. It will address issues ranging from hunger to bullying.

Ten school districts will implement the design this fall. Besides Butler County and Perry County schools, they include Bessemer, Chickasaw, Etowah County,  Decatur, Calhoun County, Dothan, Shelby County, and Lauderdale County. It will expand statewide within three to five years.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Add a comment


Comment: 1000 Characters Left

CBS 8 News and its affiliated companies are not responsible for the content of comments posted or for anything arising out of use of the above comments or other interaction among the users. We reserve the right to screen, refuse to post, remove or edit user-generated content at any time and for any or no reason in our absolute and sole discretion without prior notice, although we have no duty to do so or to monitor any Public Forum.

This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

What's onFull Schedule

Hot Video From AP

AP Video