Pacers advance...Wings, Sharks win...Oxbow ends Orb's Triple Crown bid...JJ wins at Charlotte


INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — The Indiana Pacers are in the NBA's Eastern Conference finals for the first time in nine years after defeating the New York Knicks 106-99 in Game 6. Lance Stephenson scored a team-high 25 points for the Pacers, including seven straight after the Knicks took a 92-90 lead midway through the fourth quarter. Paul George finished with 23 points and Roy Hibbert added 21 to help Indiana overcome Carmelo Anthony's game-high 39 points.

CHICAGO (AP) — Brendan Smith scored the game-winner and Jimmy Howard needed to make just 19 saves as the Detroit Red Wings beat Chicago 4-1 to even the NHL's Western Conference semifinal series at a game apiece. Smith put the Red Wings ahead to stay with 3:52 left in the middle stanza before Johan Franzan and Valtteri Filppula (val-TEHR'-ee FIHL'-puh-luh) provided third-period goals. Henrik Zetterberg had two assists for the Red Wings, who host Game 3 on Monday.

SAN JOSE, Calif. (AP) — Logan Couture (koo-CHOOR') scored a power-play goal at 1:29 of overtime to give San Jose a 2-1 win over the Los Angeles Kings. Antti Niemi (AN'-tee nee-EH'-mee) stopped 26 shots and was perfect after Tyler Toffoli scored midway through the opening period. Dan Boyle also tallied for the Sharks, who trail the Western Conference semifinal series two games to one.

BALTIMORE (AP) — Hall of Fame jockey Gary Stevens rode 15-to-1 shot Oxbow to a wire-to-wire victory in the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico, ending Orb's bid to become the first horse in 35 years to win the Triple Crown. It's the third Preakness victory for the 50-year-old Stevens, and the sixth for trainer D.Wayne Lukas. Orb went off at 3-5 but was boxed in along the backstretch and finished fourth after starting from the rail.

CONCORD, N.C. (AP) — Jimmie Johnson has become the first four-time winner of NASCAR's annual All-Star race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Johnson battled teammate Kasey Kahne (kayn) for a little more than one lap after the final restart before clearing Kahne and sailing away to the $1 million payday. Joey Logano finished second, followed by Kyle Busch, Kahne and Kurt Busch.

What's Trending

What's onFull Schedule

Hot Video From AP

AP Video